Volunteering: Winning in all Directions

 

6 pack rings, NORCAN, Beer, Cider, Food, Tunes. <3

Volunteering is the way to go. You meet cool people, learn cool stuff and experience events in a totally different way.  It feels great knowing I was a part of DCMF 2014.

Not only did I learn how much work it is to physically take down a weekend-long festival, I also learned a little something about Yukon Brewery beer.  I got to go to concerts on 2 out of the 3 days for free.
I also got a bunch of rad gifts and met some unique people amidst the commotion! :]
On the last day I got a hat from the abandoned lost and found, a bunch of free beers, delicious free food and…. A GARBAGE BAG FULL OF UNWANTED 6-PACK RINGS!!!!

OK, cool story. What does this have to do with volunteering?

Well, I was working Beer Gardens the first day of Music Fest and I noticed how many 6 pack rings were being tossed. Nobody had time to cut them, we just stuck them all in a giant garbage bag.

Question¦
WHY DO BEER COMPANIES PUT CANS IN 6-PACK HOLDERS WHEN THEY KNOW THEY ARE SHIPPING BEER TO A HUGE EVENT?!?!?!?!   Ugh, that really ticks me off.

My solution?  I asked the woman in charge if she and the other volunteers could collect the rings and if on the last day, I could take the rings to Reuben.
He works at the youth centre and has been trying to collect materials to make useful, recycled things with the 12-18 year olds. Very nice.

I am hoping that I am invited to come along and help instruct youth/have a discussion/brain storm new ideas for possible packaging and shipping methods in the future.

Volunteering.
It’s a win↔win↔win situation.

I help out at a really cool event. Coordinators have less work to do themselves.
I collect garbage that could hurt wildlife and will take thousands of years to naturally break down. The kids at the Youth Centre get to make a hammock that they can use for years afterwards!

<3 Trash.

Comments

