#IAM: islamophobia awareness month 

It is awful that people need to go through this fear. Nobody deserves to be afraid to leave their homes for fear of “looking visibly Muslim”.

It is Islamophobia Awareness Month, I ask that you be considerate of your thoughts and actions. Not just this month, but always.

#IAM standing in solidarity with you.

being woke

As I waited for the train this morning I felt disturbingly aware of my surroundings. Did that man just glare at me? Is that women charging towards me? Why do those group of kids keep looking at my direction?

I felt genuine fear. I didn’t know if I should call someone or if getting my phone out would make me more vulnerable. Islamophobia is making me paranoid.
And I know it’s not just me. A good friend has asked her mum to not go out for a few weeks. She chooses to wear the face veil and had a man attack her. Can you imagine, being trapped in your own home. I would not know how I would cope if anything happened to my mum. Heartbreaking. Another friend of mine was spat at in the street as he walked home. Imagine people who think of you as such subpar and…

View original post 168 more words

Comments

